Sean’s First Communion

Today Sean received Jesus Christ in the Eucharist for the first-time. Needless to say, it was a very momentous occasion for our family, one that we have been looking forward to for a long time.

It was extra-special because Gail has been teaching Sean in his grade 2 class at St. Paul School since January, when Gail went back to teaching after taking maternity leave for
Kayla. As well, Gail has been running parent meetings throughout the spring in order to help prepare the families for this special day.

The First Communion program at St. Paul is quite interesting actually, as Father Luterbach likes to hold “two First Communion celebrations” for the kids. At today’s Mass, the kids were to sit with their families so they could truly focus on the Sacrament. Then, at next week’s Mass, the kids will dress up in their white robes and sit together as a class to the delight of invited family and friends.

Thus, today’s Mass was indeed less distracting for Sean, despite Kayla’s best efforts to entertain him and everyone in our surrounding pews. I was very excited for Sean and I was gushing with anticipation as Mass ensued. To his credit, Sean played it calm and cool and seemed really focused on the Sacrament.

As we made our way down the aisle towards the altar, I followed Sean while carrying a sleeping Jake on my shoulder and chest. Sean and I both received from Father Luterbach and then made our way back to the pew. As I knelt next to Sean, I held his hand and prayed with him, all while holding the 40-pound sack of son on my other side. I was overcome with emotion and pride, and my eyes started to water with tears of joy.

“How do you feel Sean?” I asked.

“Really good,” Sean replied as he rubbed his tummy, “I feel like I’m full. And I was hungry before Mass.”

Sean’s answer caught me off-guard, and the skeptic in me wondered if he was just saying something to make his youth minister-Daddy happy. So I asked him what he meant.

“I feel fulfilled. Like I don’t need anything else right now.”

Sean’s answer went beyond satisfying-to-me. I kissed him on the forehead and told him how proud I was of him. We continued to pray together, and I thanked God for Sean’s child-like faith that humbles me, affirms me, and inspires me.

Leave a Reply

