Imoo Family Christmas Letter for 2009

Christmas 2009

Hello and Merry Christmas! This year, instead of having one of the kids write (or pretend to write) the letter, we’re writing this letter together and each family member will write their own section (we’ll help Kayla out though). We hope you enjoy reading this year’s Christmas letter (our family’s 8th annual note). Here goes!

2009 was a great year for our family, full of change. Sean received his First Communion, Jacob started full-time school, Gail returned to full-time teaching, Clay took on more speaking engagements, and Kayla continued to mature remarkably quickly. We didn’t get away on a family vacation this year, as we’re saving up for a trip next July to celebrate Clay and Gail’s 10-year wedding anniversary (they celebrated 20 years of dating earlier this month). However, we were able to spend a nice weekend in Victoria in November and we’ve taken a few day trips to the States.

Kayla: I’m very active now, keeping the rest of the family on its toes. I’m quite the climber, and I’m always getting into cupboards, drawers and closets. I’m not afraid to stand up for myself with my brothers, but we generally get along very well and love to play with each other. Each week, I spend a day with each of my grandmas and the rest of the week at daycare. I have adopted traits from both of my brothers, both good and bad: I’m talkative like Sean and stubborn and messy like Jacob! I try to help Mommy and Daddy as much as I can. They know that I’m up to something when I become extremely quiet and they can’t find me. I love watching videos on Youtube: especially Hi-5, the Wiggles, and videos of me and my brothers.

Jacob: This year I got to be a ring-bearer for Mom and Dad’s friend Melissa’s wedding: it was my 2nd-time ever as a ring-bearer. It was a lot of fun taking pictures and holding the pillow with the rings. I smiled the entire walk down the aisle to the altar! I started grade one in September and it’s super fun because there are toys, a big playground, and all my friends. My favourite subjects are PE and computers. I can’t wait for Mommy to teach me in September in grade 2 because she’s my Mom! For fun I like to play piano, play video games and make people laugh. By the way, I have 10 girlfriends right now.

Sean: Merry Christmas everybody and God bless you during this special season. During this year I made my First Reconciliation and I received my First Communion. For First Reconciliation I was a bit scared, and for First Communion I was very proud to receive Jesus for the first time. For school, my class and I went to Victoria for a school field trip, and my Dad came as a parent helper. I loved learning about pioneers at the museum and I liked the “wind tunnel” on the ferry. You can find me playing Xbox at home; my favourite game is NHL 10. I can beat teams at the All-Star level, now I need to work on Superstar. I also like watching TV and playing hockey outside.

Gail: This year I returned to full-time teaching grade 2 at St. Paul School; my class has 20 boys and 10 girls. In the summer, Kayla and I went with my mom and sister to New Jersey for 2 weeks; it was nice to surprise my Tita Tina for her 50th birthday. We got to stay at the Waldorf-Astoria and we stayed in the same suite that Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie had stayed in. When I’m not taking care of my 4 kids, I enjoy watching tv and dressing Kayla up!

Clay: It was a busy year for me because of work and travel. I’m starting my 8th year as the Director of the Youth Ministry Office for the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Vancouver. This year, I spoke at conferences and/or youth events in Victoria, Edmonton, Prince Albert (Saskatchewan), and Winnipeg. Also, I attended conferences at Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana and Kansas City. I’m trying to do more speaking and writing, and I like to tinker with my website (http://www.claytonimoo.com) by adding blogs, pictures, and videos. I also played on a roller hockey team this year…it was a humbling yet rewarding experience for me. I didn’t think I’d make it through the first few games.

Thanks for taking the time to read this Christmas letter. We’re looking forward to another great year in 2010. We want to wish you a Merry Christmas and Blessed New Year! We hope that the New Year brings you joy, happiness and good health! Our family will be praying for you!

God Bless and Be God’s,

Clay, Gail, Sean, Jacob and Kayla

Leave a Reply

